Finding Florida DUI Records
Driving under alcohol influence is considered a severe crime in the United States in general and in Florida in particular. Every year the number of victims in road accidents related to alcohol is skyrocketing and as a result, law enforcement authorities have zero tolerance for this negative phenomenon.
To find Florida DUI records, there 4 recommended sources you can use. The first is the criminal history information database maintained by the FDLA. This statewide online inquiry tool displays a person criminal history, and it also allows you to perform an arrest search for people charged with driving under the influence of alcohol and other illegal substances. Its major flaw is the fee it will charge you per search – $24. It is definitely not cheap if you intend to run a few searches.
The Florida Crime Information Center operates a wanted persons search that will enable you to view FL warrants including those issued for reasons of drunk driving. This is a very useful tool as it gets data from law enforcement agencies from all over the state.
Florida Department of Corrections offers the public an offender information search that will display a person’s criminal records based on his prior offenses and the time he / she spent in one of the state’s correctional facilities. The greatest advantage of this tool is that you can focus your check on a specific offense category.
Moreover, you can limit your inquiry to the county level. Many FL sheriff websites offer an online warrant search systems you can use to find DUI offences. For example, the website of Lee County sheriff publishes a weekly list of all drivers incarcerated for driving while intoxicated by alcohol. You can also arrive at the sheriff office in person and go through their criminal data bank. Florida Freedom of Information Act makes this information available to the public.
Finally, the search tool on the top of the page will give you names of people arrested for drinking and driving plus additional criminal background details. Your search will be 100% confidential.
DUI penalties in Florida
The penalty you are going to face if caught driving drunk in Florida depends on whether it is your first, second or third offense and on your blood alcohol concentration level, also referred to as blood alcohol content or BAC. According to state’s law, a person with a BAC higher than 0.8 is considered drunk and must not drive.
Generally speaking, for a first offense you will be facing a fine of 500 – 2000 dollars, a jail time of 6 – 9 months and your license will be suspended for 6 months to one year.
For a second offense, possible jail time increases to 9 – 12 months. You will need to pay a fine of 1000 – 4000 dollars and your license will be taken from you for up to 5 years.
For a third offense, fine may reach up to 5,000 dollars. You might be sent to jail for one year. Your license will be revoked for up to 10 years.
In the course of 2014, there were 676 fatalities on Florida’s roads as a result of alcohol. This figure constitutes 28.1% of all traffic deaths. Happily it marks a 4.7% decrease in relation to the previous year. The number of DUI arrests reached 40,677 of which 26,291 ended in conviction (64.63%).